Thursday, July 12, 2007

Girlie times- 3 fond memories

Incident 1:

Till my engineering, I studied all my life in all girls’ institutions. We were four friends-Bhavya, Soumya, Theju and I. There was another gal by the name Tejaswi but this story is not about her.

Anyways, we four had known each other all our lives as we had studied together right from LKG. We were all very fun loving, very naïve and very tom-boyish.

When we were in 2PU, we heard that there was JCiana happening. Now JCE was the college we all hoped to join. So, we decided that we will go check out the college fest.

We had our chemistry lab that day and we were so nervous that we kept spilling some chemical or other. By the time we managed to reach it was already past 6.

When we reached there we were dazzled! We had never seen so many guys in one place!The place was festive and so colorful.It was very noisy…everybody looked so smart and confident.


Almost every girl had a rose in her hand. Some had a bouquet. We felt like we were the only four girls who didn’t have roses. Back then to get a guy to give you a rose was the height of success. Needless to say, we were utter flops. We thought that the only way to save face was to buy ourselves some roses. Unfortunately all the roses were already sold. So we dejectedly made our way back and sat on the steps to look at the Miss.JCiana contest.

There were two girls sitting in front of us who had 3 roses each. Maybe to them we seemed too kiddish and awkward. They kept giggling, looking back at us .

Soumya who was very pretty felt that we should all go back instead of making fools of ourselves. So did Theju who wanted to go home and study. But Bhavya and me…we were spellbound. The guys were cheering at the sheer stupid answers of the pretty contestants. We wanted to know which girl would win.

So we stayed put. The girls who were vastly amused at us...kept giggling!

Finally getting irritated Bhavya scoffed “They have just three roses and they act so proud...I have whole rose bush back in my house”

It sounds silly now…but we were vastly amused at that remark and we howled with laugher till the girls got up and left.

I am still so proud of our imbecile behavior.

Incident 2:


Back in engineering, when we were in our first semester…we used do the craziest of things. Saturday afternoons our college would be deserted as most of them would not have any classes. One such Saturday we stayed back to sit and chit-chat. We were three girls-Adlin ,Deepika and I. We were sitting on a bench in our underground canteen and it seemed eerie...the total silence. Our voices sounded loud! So we whispered and giggled and suddenly I wondered whether Adlin could lift me. I asked her and she wasn’t sure either…and we felt that it was important enough to test it out immediately! Since she was of the same height as I was, we decided that the best thing was-

1. for me to get up on the desk

2. She would stand below me

3. We both would count up to 3

4. I would jump

5. She would catch me...

You are thinking that we sound moronic….we were.

So we executed the plan perfectly. On the count of 3, I jumped on her...and she held me. I had my legs around her waist…and then three guys walk in! To make matters worse, they were our seniors. We posed there frozen-like Jane Goodall and her favorite Chimpanzee

Our seniors were just as shocked and they walked out silently. When you witness such stupidity, it’s only natural that you go into shock and forget to laugh. Once they recovered,they decided that it would be apt to call me “Tarzan”. But once they realized that it only made me laugh they gave up teasing me.

But I was glad: Adlin could lift me.

Incident3:

During my training days in Bangalore I was friends with two girls-Shilpa and Charu. Charu was a slim Punjabi while Shilpa was from Hospet and had very pretty eyes.

Now Charu and me-we were very similar. We liked poetry and we liked laughing. Shilpa was very stern and dignified. She is the kind…who needs a reason to laugh. Everyday after our training, we three would walk to the bus stand via Anand Rao Circle. Sometimes we would be very tired and would try to flag down an auto with very little success. As we all know…autowallahs in blore don’t go anywhere-they just like roaming around refusing customers.


Sometimes we would frantically wave at speeding auto and Charu would scream “aaAAAuuutoooOOOooo!!!” very much like a Hindi movie heroine screaming “bachaoooOOOooooooo!!!” This would set me giggling and Charu would join in after few seconds. Shilpa would get irritated with us as we walked very slowly and laughed nonstop.

We would also discuss the happenings of the day...how a guy used some dirty word 70 times or some equally silly thing.

One day right in the middle of AnandaRao Circle we started laughing wondering whether the guy actually wants to make love to a car when he calls it sexy! Shilpa after trying for a few mins..joined us in our maniac laughter.

She would walk ahead of us muttering about being stuck with people who ought to be in Nimhans

The subway from Anand Rao circle to Majestic is the scariest place I have ever been to. It is dark, reeks and is full of drunkards. But with those two girls-one who refused to laugh at silly things and the other who just wouldn’t stop ….I had no fears. Just sore throat from all that laughing!

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home